INTERNATIONAL LEPROSY ASSOCIATION

(SOCIÉTÉ INTERNATIONALE DE LA LÈPRE)

Office of the General Secretary-Treasurer 29 Dorset Square, London, N.W.1, England

The purposes of the Association are to encourage and facilitate mutual acquaintance between persons of all nationalities who are concerned in leprosy work and the co-ordination of their efforts; to facilitate the dissemination of knowledge of leprosy and its control; to aid in any other practical manner the anti-leprosy campaign throughout the world; and to this end to publish a scientific journal of leprosy.

The general body of the Association is divided for appropriate particular purposes into two regional bodies, the Western and Eastern Sections. The Western Section comprises the members located in Europe, Africa, and the Americas, The Eastern Section those located in Asia and Oceania.

Memberships are (1) regular, "limited to persons with recognized medical degrees, and those with other scientific qualifications who are, or have been, actively connected with leprosy work," and (2) associate, open to all other persons interested in leprosy and leprosy work. Membership dues are one guinea (British currency) a year. Each member receives the International Journal of Leprosy for a period for which he has paid his membership dues.

The first permanent officers, chosen by postal election in 1932 to serve until 1937, are listed below.

THE GENERAL COUNCIL

President-Dr. V. G. Heiser, New York City.

Vice-Presidents-The Section Chairmen, ex-officio.

General Secretary-Treasurer-Dr. R. G. Cochrane, London.

General Councillors—SIR LEONARD ROGERS, London; DR. E. BURNET, League of Nations, Geneva; DR. C. DE LANGEN, Batavia, Netherlands East Indies; DR. M. Ota, Sendai, Japan; The Secretary-Treasurers of the Sections, and the Editor of the Journal, ex officio.

SECTION COUNCILS

WESTERN SECTION

Chairman-Dr. E. MARCHOUX, Paris.

Vice-Chairman-Dr. H. C. DE SOUZA-ARAUJO, Rio de Janeiro.

Secretary-Treasurer-Dr. H. P. Lie, Bergen, Norway.

Councillors—Dr. Enrique P. Fidanza, Buenos Aires; Prof. Dr. B. Nocht, Hamburg; Dr. N. E. Wayson, Honolulu; Dr. B. Moiser, Ngomahuru, Southern Rhodesia.

EASTERN SECTION

Chairman-Dr. E. Muir, Calcutta.

Vice-Chairman-Dr. K. MITSUDA, Nagashima, Japan.

Secretary-Treasurer-Dr. James L. Maxwell, Shanghai.

Councillors—Dr. J. Lowe, Calcutta; Dr. Wu-Lien-Teh, Shanghai; Dr. J. N. Rodriguez, Cebu, P. I.; Dr. Gushue-Taylor, Taihoku, Formosa.