DAMIEN-DUTTON AWARDS¹

- 1953 Stanley Stein, U.S.A.

 For outstanding contribution to public knowledge of the true facts of Hansen's Disease.
- 1954 Rev. Joseph Sweeney, M.M., Korea.

 For his untiring efforts and sacrifices on behalf of the victims of leprosy in Korea.
- 1955 Sister Marie Suzanne, S.M.S.M., France.
 For outstanding scientific contribution as well as a lifetime of personal service and devotion on behalf of victims of Hansen's Disease.
- 1956 Perry Burgess, U.S.A.

 For outstanding personal interest and self-dedication to the search for personnel, funds and improved scientific equipment to meet the problems of Hansen's Disease.
- 1957 John Farrow, U.S.A. In recognition of his literary contribution on the life of Damien which has been the acknowledged inspiration for many to a life of total dedication in the service of victims of Hansen's Disease.
- 1958 Sister Hilary Ross, U.S.A.

 For outstanding scientific contribution as well as a lifetime of service and devotion on behalf of victims of Hansen's Disease.
- 1959 Dr. H. Windsor Wade, Philippines. For outstanding scientific contribution as well as a lifetime of personal service and devotion on behalf of victims of Hansen's Disease.
- 1960 Right Reverend Monsignor Louis Joseph Mendelis, STD., LLD., U.S.A. For his outstanding and inspiring example of love for the leprosy missions of the world. By raising funds necessary to provide relief, research and recreation for the victims of leprosy.
- 1961 Dr. Kensuke Mitsuda, Japan.

 For his life-time of sacrifice and devotion to the victims of Hansen's Disease.
- 1962 Rev. Pierre De Orgeval, SS.CC., France.

 Who replaced Father Damien upon his death as Chaplain for the leprosy patients at Molokai and who served them faithfully for more than fifty years.

Information kindly provided by Howard E. Crouch, Director and Founder of the Damien-Dutton Society for Leprosy Aid.

- 1963 Eunice Weaver, Brazil. For a lifetime of service, sacrifice and devotion to the victims of leprosy.
- 1964 Dr. Robert G. Cochrane, England. For a lifetime of devotion on behalf of the victims of leprosy.
- 1965 President John F. Kennedy, U.S.A. (posthumously).

 For his interest in the leprosy patients of the world and as the first American President to proclaim World Leprosy Day in the United States.
- 1966 Peace Corps, U.S.A.

 For their many dedicated members who aided in the care of leprosy patients in many countries in which they served.
- 1967 Dr. Howard A. Rusk, U.S.A. For outstanding service to humanity.
- 1968 Dr. Franz Hemerijckx, Belgium.

 For his compassion and love of those who have leprosy, and for his outstanding contribution towards the conquest of leprosy.
- 1969 Dr. Victor George Heiser, U.S.A.

 For the contributions he has made toward the alleviation of the sufferings of the victims of leprosy.
- 1970 Dr. Dharmendra, India.
 For a lifetime of selfless devotion in the treatment of leprosy patients, training medical and paramedical workers, and for his many writings on leprosy.
- 1971 Dr. Chapman H. Binford, U.S.A.

 For outstanding efforts to eraticate Hansen's Disease and to rehabilitate its sufferers.
- 1972 Dr. Patricia Smith, Vietnam.

 In recognition of her unremitting commitment and service to suffering humanity, beginning with the unusual response and devotion to the victims of Hansen's Disease in South Vietnam.
- 1973 Dr. Jacinto Convit, Venezuela.

 Citation to be presented at the Tenth International Leprosy Congress.