GENERAL MEETING OF MEMBERS

International Leprosy Association

A General Meeting of members of the International Leprosy Association was held on Saturday, 18 August 1973, at 9 a.m. during the Tenth International Leprosy Congress at Bergen.

The president of the Association, Dr. J. Convit, took the chair, and presented the agenda to the meeting.

Greetings to honorary office holders. On the proposal of the president, the meeting agreed enthusiastically to send messages of cordial greetings and good wishes to: Drs. Ernest Muir, E. Agricola and K. Kitamura. The secretary-treasurer was directed to write suitable letters to these honored colleagues.

Greetings to Count Raoul Follereau. The president reported that the Council of the Association had sent a telegram jointly with the Norwegian Organizing Committee of the Congress and the representatives at Bergen of ELEP (the Federation of European Anti-Leprosy Associations) to Count Raoul Follereau on the occasion of his 70th birthday.

Deaths of members of the Association. The president read a list of members of the International Leprosy Association whose deaths had been reported since the last International Congress (London, 1968). Special tribute was paid to the life and work of Dr. Victor Heiser and Dr. H. W. Wade. The members stood in silence as they remembered the following former colleagues: Dr. J. A. Kinnear Brown, Dr. Ernesto T. Capurro, Mr. C. I. Crowther, Dr. N. D. Fraser, Dr. Margaret Fitzherbert, Dr. Victor Heiser, Dr. F. Hemerijcks, Dr. S. W. A. Kuper, Dr. S. Schujman, Dr. Nelson de Souza Campos, Dr. H. W. Wade, Mrs. Eunice Weaver. Members were asked to notify the secretary-treasurer of any names omitted from the above list.

Office-bearers of the Association. The president reported that the Council had given earnest consideration to the officers that should be elected by the members at the present meeting. He reminded the members that all present office holders (according to the Constitution of the Association) held office until the General Meeting of members, and that new officers should be elected by the members, having regard to geographical representation, the size of the leprosy endemic in the respective areas and other germane factors, such as the importance of research activities.

The president vacated the chair, while the secretary-treasurer reported to the meeting that it was the unanimous wish of the Council that Dr. J. Convit should be invited to continue in office for a further term. By a show of hands and applause, it was evident that Dr. J. Convit enjoyed the support of the overwhelming majority of members. He was therefore declared duly elected as president for the ensuing five years.

Vice-Presidents. The president informed the meeting that the Council proposed for election the following vice-presidents for the respective geographical areas indicated: Americas—Dr. J. Hanks, Europe/Africa —General J. Languillon, Eastern Area—Dr. J. N. Rodriguez.

There being no nominations from the floor, the president declared the above persons duly elected.

Honorary vice-presidents. To honor two distinguished leprosy workers who had held office as vice-presidents for the past quinquennium, the president reported that the Council would wish to recommend to the meeting that Dr. Chapman Binford and Dr. F. Contreras Duenas be elected as honorary vice-presidents of the Association. The meeting showed its warm concurrence by applause.

Editor of the Journal. After careful thought and consideration, and with due appreciation of the work done by the present editor through difficulties of various kinds, the Council recommended that Dr. Olaf Skinsnes be invited to continue as editor of the International Journal of Leprosy and other Mycobacterial Diseases for a further term. The meeting endorsed this recommendation and expressed its gratitude to Dr. Skinsnes.

Secretary-Treasurer. The president expressed the unanimous view of the Council that Dr. S. G. Browne be invited to continue as secretary-treasurer of the Association. The president voiced the thanks of himself, the Council and the members for the exemplary way Dr. Browne had fulfilled the diverse and onerous duties of the office. The meeting heartily endorsed the recommendation of the Council.

Election of Councillors. The president referred to the need for a strong Council, representative of the various geographic areas and interests of the members. After careful thought, the Council recommended to the members for their consideration the names already written on the blackboard. There being no comment or new nominations from the floor, the president declared the following members duly elected to serve as Councillors of the International Leprosy Association for the ensuing five years:

Americas

Dr. L. M. Balina

Dr. L. M. Bechelli

Dr. O. W. Hasselblad

Dr. F. E. A. Rabello

Dr. C. C. Shepard

Europe/Africa

Dr. T. de las Aguas

Prof. M. F. Lechat

Dr. B. D. Molesworth

Dr. R. J. W. Rees

Dr. K. F. Schaller

J. K. F. Schane

Asia/Far East

Dr. R. S. Guinto

Dr. C. K. Job

Dr. K. Ramanujam

Dr. Y. Yoshie

Note: a) The editor is *ex-officio* a member of the Council, b) Dr. Esmond R. Long, Editor Emeritus, will be retaining that title, but has expressed the wish not to remain as member of the Council.

Membership dues. The president reported that the Council reluctantly recommended an increase in the annual subscription from \$15 U.S. (6.25 pounds sterling) to \$20 U.S. (8.00 pounds sterling) as from 1 January, 1974. In view of rising costs, the increase was inevitable. The president reminded the members that this increased subscription would not cover the cost of production of the Journal, which would still need to be heavily subsidized by voluntary organizations. He expressed the gratitude of the members to those responsible for directing this much appreciated help to the publication office of the Journal.

Congress, 1978. The president reported that the Council had given prolonged and objective consideration to the choice of venue for the Eleventh International Leprosy Congress, but had decided to leave the matter to the democratic decision of the present meeting. There were pros and cons for each of the proposed sites, studied in detail by the Council. The president then called upon a representative from each of the three countries concerned to place their arguments before the General Meeting.

After Dr. L. M. Balina, Dr. Barba Rubio and Dr. Olaf Skinsnes had spoken briefly advocating the claims of, respectively, Argentina, Mexico and Hawaii, U.S.A., the president put these choices to the meeting, one by one. Tellers reported the following voting by a show of hands: Argentina, 43; Mexico, 57; Hawaii, 25.

The president declared that the Eleventh International Leprosy Congress would therefore be held in Mexico City, Mexico, sometime in the latter half of 1978. The exact date and place, duration of meetings and all relevant details would be announced as soon as possible. The secretary-treasurer would be pleased to receive and collate, for the consideration of the new Council, any suggestions on any aspect of the next Congress. As in London (1968) and Bergen (1973), the International Leprosy Association would assume responsibility for the scientific organization of the Congress.

There being no other business, the president declared the meeting of members closed, having thanked those present for their help and cooperation.

> J. CONVIT President S. G. Browne Secretary-Treasurer